Illness · mental health

I quit.

After a long, stressful 5 years, I have finally resigned from Asda. After being thrown the ultimatum of coming back to work or I lose my job, I decided it was best for me, physically and mentally for my health to quit. After everything I’ve been put through, and the managers I’ve spoken to not taking mental health seriously, saying since I’m not physically ill I am fine to work again, despite legal and medical advice from my doctor saying I’m not, and it’s wrong of them to say that to me when I was so mentally unstable. Ultimately I’ve been forced out, patronised, and shown no empathy, I wouldn’t feel comfortable going back and it’s what feels right. I feel like a massive weight has been lifted off my shoulders and I’m so much happier. I love everyone I’ve worked with, and leaving them behind is the hard part.

Mental health is not a joke, it’s a very serious matter and I want to change the way people view it. We need to end the stigma surrounding it, my story here being a prime example why.

Leave a Reply

