Books · Reading · University · Writing

The Top 10 Books I Have Had to Read for Uni and Enjoyed!

Ever since I learnt how to read, I’ve been obsessed with it. I was never seen without my face stuck in a book, and I was that nerdy kid that read every book in the classroom, and got certificates for it haha. That was my greatest achievement to me in primary school mind!

Being an English student at university however, sometimes takes away the pleasure, escapism, and enjoyment that came with reading. I could no longer read for fun; there were stacks and stacks of books from previous centuries that I had to read, and it sort of made me fall out of love with reading for a little while. But I think that’s only because at times it got a bit too much; I’ve had to read two books in the space of a week for my last semester I’m currently in for example. It gets to the point where I start a book, get as far as I can, and then move onto the next one to fit in with the lecture schedule. And one thing I hate is not finishing books, I can’t be the only one!

Regardless though, I am so grateful and thankful for it, because it’s opened my eyes and mind, and I’ve read books I wouldn’t normally go for and read, and I’ve enjoyed quite a few of them as a result, and learnt a lot.

So I thought it would be fun to list the top 10 books I’ve had to read on my course that I have fallen in love with.

  1. Rebecca, Daphne du Maurier
  2. Lucky, Alice Sebold
  3. The Lovely Bones, Alice Sebold
  4. The Picture of Dorian Gray, Oscar Wilde
  5. Lady Audley’s Secret, Mary Elizabeth Braddon
  6. As If, Blake Morrison
  7. Colder than Here, Laura Wade
  8. Albert Angelo, B.S. Johnson
  9. 1982, Janine, Alasdair Gray
  10. Evelina, Fanny Burney

 

 Nature, wicca & love. Enjoy 🌳 ⛥ ♥

Leave a Reply

