mental health · Uncategorized

‘It comes in waves, I close my eyes, hold my breath and let it bury me.’

We’re gonna get a bit personal again here today.

For the past few months I’ve been really struggling with my depression, but been too scared to go back to my doctor to address it. Sounds silly, I know, but I guess I just wanted a break. I’m sick of being in and out of the doctors surgery, and hospitals, but I guess it’s just something I’m gonna have to grit my teeth and bear it. God knows I’ve been doing it for the past 10 or so years.

So I went to talk to them yesterday, and we agreed it would help if they upped my dosage of anti-depressants I am taking. I take Sertraline, and have been on them for about…5 or 6 months now? I’ve gone from 50mg, to 100mg, and now I’m taking 150mg. The max is 200mg.
While they do help a lot, it’s the initial side effects that occur when you do increase the dosage. I feel so sick, tired and dizzy, and have no appetite. It sucks to say that I’m used to it, but it doesn’t make it any easier. I can’t wait till they wear off and I start to feel more like myself again.

I’ve kinda shut myself off from the world, you know, when you don’t wanna see or speak to anybody, no matter how close you are with them. I just need a little break from life I guess. I’ve been overrun with emotions and scares these past few months, it’s healthy I think to just sacrifice plans and spend time to yourself. I know it helps me a lot.

Leave a Reply

