Books · Reading · Writing

R.I.P Louise Rennison

http://www.theguardian.com/books/2016/mar/13/louise-rennison-obituary

It broke my heart when I read that Louise Rennison died a few weeks ago. She died the day before my birthday, which upset me a bit. Growing up, she had been one of my favourite authors; The Confessions of Georgia Nicholson were the books that I read religiously throughout my primary school years, leading up into the first couple of years of high school.

I had never read anything like those books, they were truly hilarious and relatable, I think they were the first books that had me actually laughing out loud like a loon. I can’t count the amount of times I’ve read the entire series back then, it was a lot let me tell you! All I did as a kid was read, and then re-read the same books over and over again if I hadn’t anything new to read.

It was the language in the books, the hilarious names that rubbed off on me so much that I started using it in real life! For example, I used to call boobs ‘nunga-nunga’s’ haha, yeah, I really did. It was a great word ha! I think she was a fantastic writer, it was like she inside every teenage girls head.

I remember having the pleasure of meeting her when I was in Year 7, she came to my high school to sign and promote her new book at the time ‘...Then He Ate My Boy Entrancers.‘ Boy entrancers being a funny way of referring to false eyelashes of course haha. She was so lovely, bubbly, and funny – her personality shone in the books just as it did in real life. She was delightful, and I’m glad I got the chance to meet her, even though it was a little over 10 years ago, I still remember it vividly. That was her, and her books to me – lively, energetic, and memorable.

 

 

Leave a Reply

