Books · conspiracy theories · Reading · University · Writing

Conspiracy theories

I only recently just started watching Shane Dawson on YouTube a few months back, the videos that caught my attention the most were his conspiracy theory videos. I have been told I’m such a gullible person, I fall for anything and everything! You’d think I’d have grown out of this haha, but 22 years going and I still believe everything I’m told.

His most recent video on conspiracy theories gave me the chills, I’ll post a link so you can watch it if you’re interested.

The one thing that has stuck with me was when he talks about crisis actors. Crisis actors are people that are hired to play the victims of things like school shootings and terrorist attacks. They are supposedly used by the government and/or the media to deceive the public with portrayals of trauma and suffering. The conspiracy theory is that these things aren’t actually happening; the government create these events to get their agenda across, and distract the public.

I just submitted an assignment that addressed vaguely similar things, and from having done a bit of studying on it, I wouldn’t dismiss this theory. I wrote about the relationship between visual media, writing, and violence, in Ali Smiths 2005 novel The Accidental. In my essay I talk about how’ it is a novel about what is real and what isn’t. It’s about our capacity to perceive our world; it’s not natural, it is socially shaped for us, by our environment and social habits.’
‘Everyone remembers certain wars and attacks. Think back to 9/11. I can remember exactly where I was and what I was doing at the time, despite only being a young child. Why? Because we were bombarded with the same images on social media everywhere, the same footage being shown to us over and over again, like we needed to see it numerous times. We have those visuals engrained in our memories forever, due to it being mediated through the economy of television – the constant rolling, relaying, and repetition of news. It is worrying how filmic these visuals are – if we were to see shots of 9/11 without the news headlines – you wouldn’t notice the difference. There is a serious clash between fiction, reality, fantasy, and the actual part of the trauma of the event. How can we tell what is real?’

  

Leave a Reply

