Anxiety · relationships · Romance · Uncategorized

Ghosting

Lets talk about ‘ghosting’.

This is where the person you are currently dating or seeing, ends whatever relationship you have with them by doing a disappearing act. Poof. Vanished out of your life, forever. Gone, with no reason or explanation, or even any sign of it. And it’s frustrating as hell.

I’m writing about this today because I have been ghosted, and I glimpsed that person the other night when I was out, and it brought back that experience.

So, a bit of background. I had known this guy since college, and had really liked him, but nothing came out of it. He used to flirt with me all the time, but then asked another girl out. Fast-forward a few years later and he spots me in a bar, initiates conversation and things were seemingly going well. We talked all day, every day, he would always compliment me; I felt like a giddy schoolgirl again. Then he told me he loved me. Vowed he’d never hurt me.

And then he disappeared. The day before Valentines Day, and a couple of weeks before my 21st birthday, which he promised he was going to take me out for.

The messages stopped. He didn’t reply to the messages I did send, wondering if everything was okay.

He’d just cut himself off from me. And boy, did it hurt. I had said to myself to not let myself get hurt by him again, and despite friends advice to stay away, I let him get to me, and he broke my heart.

I think the worst thing is that you are left with no reason, and so you never get an answer as to why. I’m the sort of person that needs that closure – don’t get me wrong I have moved on and I’m with such a great guy, but I’ll always be left wondering why. I saw him for about two seconds, he looked me dead in my eyes as he walked past me. Those two seconds were enough for me to feel angry and hurt all over again, to want to give him a piece of my mind – but I was too stunned to do anything.

I don’t understand why people do it, I know it’s hard when it comes to breaking things off, but the best thing to do is just be honest, and come out with it.
Has anyone else had a similar experience?

 :

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Ghosting

  1. Yes I have experienced this too and I hate it. Obviously people move on, but to ghost when you have created a bond is unfair. It leaves you overthinking everything, coming up with your own explanations x

    Like

    1. Yes exactly! When you invest time and emotions into something to be fully cut out of someone’s life when you were in it so much, it’s not right. It seems like we’ll never get our answers x

      Like

Leave a Reply

