Reading · Uncategorized · Uni · Writing

Getting my creative energy back

Good morning! The sun is shining, it’s warm, I’m slowly getting better (again!) and I’m feeling good.

I’ve not written anything for awhile, so when I lose my spark, I tend to just search for some writing prompts, you know, to get the creative juices flowing. I find that they can be really helpful, when I find one that I can click with, the story unfurls in my head and I get that creative burst of inspiration that I love so much.

It feels good to be getting back into writing for myself, just like reading for myself. I’ve spent the last several months so focused on uni work; writing, reading, breathing everything to do with my course, that it’s refreshing for it to be over and get back to me for a little while.

So yeah! That’s what I’ve been up too. The prompt I started spinning a story from was this: ‘you are a mortician selling caskets, but you know when people are going to die.’

I thought it sounded really interesting, and the story I have forming follows a female protagonist, who is, in a sense, like a modern day, living, breathing, grim reaper/angel of death type. I’m having fun with it! I’ve written the first chapter, and it ended up being taken from my own experience, so it was a little personal for me, and I had to stop writing because I got a lil emotional!

But, I’m excited to carry it on and see where it goes, I may post a snippet on here when I’m happy with it 😉

Hope you all have a wonderful day 🙂

I can hear the tap clip, tap clip, tap clip of a typewriter. Yes, I said, I am writing a book.   http://chloethurlow.com/category/diary/:

Leave a Reply

