mental health · relationships · Uncategorized

Positive Perspectives

It’s been a weird, emotional roller-coaster these past few months. But I always say that everything happens for a reason. I’ve discovered I’m happy doing me, what I want, and not abiding by anyone’s bullshit for once. Painfully, but ultimately for the best, I’m gaining clarity and a fresh perspective on life, and the life I want to lead.

I used to understand the saying ‘blood runs thicker than water’, because at one point I thought my family were my world. Over the past year my family have crumbled and fallen apart and become so negatively toxic, that I now only have my parents and sister. And I’m happier that way. I’ve seen the lies, hurt, and deception in my family, and it’s honestly refreshing to not be in that loop and talking to everyone and knowing everything about everyone’s life. It’s also opened my eyes to the people who mean the most to me. The closest family member I had was my auntie, until she decided to cut me out of her life completely. For this to be so easy for her says a lot, and I am not just going to make amends like she wants at the click of a finger, the drop of a text. You’ve made your bed, so now lie in it. The damage is already done, and it’s probably for the best.

I’m happy focusing on me and my studies and what’s important to ME. You forget that you only get one chance of life, and it sounds cliche I know, but life really is what you make it. I think we need to remind ourselves of this every so often.

From my rotting body, flowers shall grow and I am in them and that is eternity - Edvard Munch:

Leave a Reply

