Anxiety · depression · Illness · mental health

Mind and PIP

PIP is short for Personal Independence Payment (and also for my cat ha) but in all seriousness now, is a benefit for people in living in the UK aged between 16 – 64 who have an illness or long-term disability, and it’s a payment that helps these people with daily activities or who cannot get a job due to an illness or disability.

I applied for it just over a year ago, and I have to say it wasn’t a pleasant experience. The questions asked if I remember correctly, more based on your ability and how well you can get about and do things in your daily life. These questions were more based on the physical aspect, and questions asked didn’t really take into account how mental health can be equally as debillitating.

I was made to feel like because there wasn’t something physically visibly wrong with me, that I was fine, and not *eligible* enough to qualify for recieving this help. I’d lost my job and been out of work because of my poor mental health, so when I found out I couldn’t recieve help, I just felt let down.

I rememeber when I found out, I went online searched to see if anyone had the same experience. To my surprise, there were hundreds. I was shocked. But I was glad to know that this wasn’t just me it had happened to, even though it’s a sad situation that I wouldn’t want to wish anyone in.

Currently, mental health charity Mind are campaining to make changes in the way people are assessed for PIP, because those suffering with mental health problems are being overlooked and brushed aside, and it’s not right.

Have you experienced something similar? Do you want to help see if we can make a change to the way it is currently being dealt with? If so, Mind have a very short survey that will only take a minute of your time. If enough of us rally together, we might make a difference.

Below are the links to the Mind website, and the short survey. Please feel free to share your experiences with me also! 🙂

Mind.org PIP Survey 

Mind.org.uk

Image result for mind mental health

One thought on “Mind and PIP

Leave a Reply

