Anxiety · depression · Illness · Internet · mental health · Uncategorized · Uni

ASMR – What helps me through my insomnia: a tip for ‘surviving.’

I always have bad periods of insomnia. It normally hits me when I’m having a stressful time, and/or feeling particularly depressed or anxious. And I just cannot sleep. I’ll lie there running over every little detail in my life, getting unnecessarily worked up. My saving grace when this happens, is listening to ASMR videos.

ASMR is defined as follows: Autonomous sensory meridian response (ASMR) is an experience characterised by a static-like or tingling sensation on the skin that typically begins on the scalp and moves down the back of the neck and upper spine. It has been compared with auditory-tactile synesthesia.

Or as the ASMR community like to call, ‘tingles.’ There’s dozens of videos out there full of ‘triggers’ to give you ‘tingles’, and make you feel good. You have to find what works for you; what sounds you enjoy and how they make you feel physically. For me, eating sounds, crinkling sounds, typing sounds, and videos that play around with the sensation of having things in your ear – it sounds so weird I know, but it’s not as crazy as it sounds haha. When I’m having a bad night and struggling with sleep, I stick my earphones in and go on an ASMR binge. I get little tingles now and again, but the sounds are mostly just so relaxing that they help me drift off to sleep, most of the time without even realising. I always wake up at some point in the night with my earphones still in my ears and tangled up in them, with my phone on somewhere next to me in bed.

I’ve tried a number of different things to help me with my sleep, as it’s something I’ve really struggled with over the past few years, and this is one thing I’ve found that actually helps me. I highly recommend if you are not already a fan and are struggling with sleep; I guarantee you’ll find something that works for you. That is how I’ve currently been dealing with my bad nights, so in light of this year’s theme for Mental Health Awareness Week, I thought I’d share.

I’ve just submitted another assignment today that has been really stressing me out, and I can’t wait to wind down later and get some sleep! Do you already listen to ASMR videos? What are your favourites, or your triggers? Share below! Happy Thursday 🙂

Leave a Reply

