Uncategorized · Uni · University · Writing

Dissertation/Final University Creative Project

So I’ve finally reached the point, where the end is near. So close, yet so far! The final part of my Masters course, who woulda thought?

So! Because I am studying a creative writing course, we were given the option to do a dissertation, or a creative piece. Guess which one I went for! Hah. If I’m honest, this whole course has felt like a dissertation in some ways, because there has barely been any creative writing, yet that’s what I signed up for. Turns out, it’s not what it says on the tin.

So I’ve been waiting for the time to get all that out of the way and focus on this last part where we finally get to do what we want. Of course, I chose the option of creative project, where you could write 14,000 words of prose, or up to 50 poems. Surprisingly, I’ve been really into writing poetry at the moment, so I’ve gone for the 50 poem option. What an undertaking!

I have poems on the back-burner already which has made up about 35% of the project, and now I’m having to write the rest, to hit that 50 mark. It’s been hard, but I have been enjoying it. I’m very experimental with the visual layout of my writing, and that I have been loving and just running with it. I’m currently stuck in a bit of a rough patch however, as my supervisor – whilst I do really appreciate the help and input – has been making suggestions, and I’ve edited some poems with the advice given, but it’s not what I want, and it’s making me really dislike what I’ve written. I’m really conflicted at the moment now, and it’s put a stopper in the creative flow of writing I’ve been churning out.

✈ Amin Akhundlu / Baku

Leave a Reply

