Books · Reading · Uncategorized

Thoughts on Dear Amy, by Helen Callaghan *no spoilers*

Pegged as The Sunday Times  Best-Selling Psychological Thriller, I was very keen to get into this story. I’m not usually one for crime/mystery thrillers, but it’s something I’ve found myself reaching for recently.

I had a slow start I won’t lie, it was difficult for me to get into at first. But, as I got towards the middle I found the pace picked up more and I was a little more drawn in. I had a feeling that the reveal was going to be what it was, so I wasn’t all that surprised, which was a little disappointing.  I didn’t find the main character all that likeable either, which could also be why I found myself not enjoying the book. Also, I’m not sure if it was just me, but all of the point of view switches really threw me off too; sometimes you couldn’t tell between the girls/whose POV it was, unless that was intentional. I just wasn’t captivated, and that’s all I want in a good book.

It got to the point where I was reading it just to finish it – I hate leaving books unfinished – so when it gets to that point, it’s not something I enjoy anymore. I’m sure many others have enjoyed this thriller however, so if the genre is your cup of tea, give it a shot. If you’ve already read it, I’d love to hear your take on it too.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

